It was back in 82 and Italy had just beaten Poland to reach the
final of the world cup "Spain 82" and what a thrill it was for me just
15 years of age at the time to have seen it! I would be seeing Italy
play in the final for the very first time. This unlike in "Mexico 70"
when my three years of age at the time prevented me from enjoying the
match, not that with Italy loosing; this was something which I would
have done but at least I could have tasted the thrill of seeing them
defeating Germany in that historical semifinal match. I was in high
spirits for Germany Vs France which promised to be a great one and one
which I would truly enjoy. This to a certain extent more than I did when
Italy played, due to the fact that during Italy's matches; I always
wanted Italy to win and concentrated more on wishing their victory in my
mind than just sitting back and watching the game. Of course even
suffering when Italy lost while going in to extreme delight when Italy
won yet hardly ever just enjoying the game for its own sake.
This
however would be different as Italy was already in the final and all I
had to do was enjoy the game with no tension; just to see whom Italy
would be facing. I, for my part had a slight preference to see France in
the final and this not because of any particular liking toward the
French or even because I believed they would be an easier team for
Italy. As at this level all teams are generally speaking great but due
to wanting to see another team in the final. Germany, all things
considered had won the world cup in 74, come in third in 70 and been
runner-up in 66. France on the other hand, had never been in a final and
the best they had ever done in a world cup was back in 1958 when they
came in third; beating Germany by 6-3 in their match for third place. As
a matter of fact that had been the last time these two teams had met in
a world cup and if this encounter were to be any where near what I can
only imagine that one had been; than this was going to be great one.
Naturally,
Germany and France both contained great players and were solid in just
about every position. As both teams had been building up their
formations since Argentina 78 and though neither was really successful
in that world cup; their players had at least gained experience. As for
Germany's and France's starting lineups, they went as followed on that
particular day:
Federal Republic Of Germany:
Schumacher
Kaltz
Stielike
K. H. Forster
B. Forster
Briegel
Dremmler
Breitner
Magath
Littbarski
Fischer
Head Coach: Derwall
Schumacher
Kaltz
Stielike
K. H. Forster
B. Forster
Briegel
Dremmler
Breitner
Magath
Littbarski
Fischer
Head Coach: Derwall
with notable such as Rummenige and Hrubesch on the bench
France:
Ettori
Amoros
Janvion
Tresor
Bossis
Tigana
Giresse
Platini
Genghini
Rocheteau
Six
Head Coach: Hidalgo
Ettori
Amoros
Janvion
Tresor
Bossis
Tigana
Giresse
Platini
Genghini
Rocheteau
Six
Head Coach: Hidalgo
I remember thinking how great it would be
to watch a game, not caring who won but just wanting to see a great
match; to appreciate the talent of both sides. This unlike when I saw
Argentina Vs Brazil, where I wanted Argentina to win so Italy would not
have to win against Brazil yet this was another situation. I also wanted
to see a long exhausting match so the winner would be tired and perhaps
not be at 100% when they faced Italy on Sunday. I do not really know
why but I expected to see something fabulous sort of like another "Italy
Vs Germany" like in Mexico 70 but this time; it would be in my
generation and not in the one that had been. It even being a case that
not even one player remained from that German team which Italy defeated
despite only 12 years having gone by.
I, at the time not wanting
to watch the game on my lonesome went to a cousin's house, who was not
far from my own to see the game with him and his wife; whom I knew to be
of German descent. This creating a situation that she though not a
great fan of Germany went for Germany while he really preferred France. I
having no real preference though had a slight desire to see France in
the final given the above mentioned factors.
The game got under
way in Seville which made all 6 of us in the room mere spectators
through the magic of television of what was happening so far away yet
was close to our emotions at the time. I had never seen a semifinal live
as the first world cup I saw live was Argentina 78 in which there was
no semifinal. It being the case of teams qualifying directly from the
quarterfinals to the final or the match for third place without having
to play a semifinal encounter. Germany 74 had been the same with the
last semifinal having been played in Mexico 70 which saw what many
consider to be the greatest game in the history of the world cup. This
when Italy defeated Germany by a score of 4-3 in a match which took
excitement to an all time high in what has to a large extent become the
yardstick by which other great games must measure up to.
The game
started and all talk stopped in the room as France and Germany had taken
center stage in our lives or at least for the next 90 minutes or so.
Germany quickly went on attack in their typical methodical way which
though hardly ever brilliant or quick at least is consistent and
relentless however France was able to control them. It however did not
take long for France to show some of the attacking skills which had
allowed them to slip four goals past Northern Ireland and their
legendary goalkeeper (Jennings) in their previous match. It being French
skill which like their game in those days came in sparks which though
at times brilliant was not consistent.
It being these sparks which
were visible when Giresse was almost able to filter a ball to Platini
which would have left him one on one with Schumacher had it not been for
Stielike's opportune intervention. France even created another chance
at the start of the game which forced Schumacher to punch the ball for a
corner. It being clear even early on how the game would be played and
by whom. It being France's midfield which dominated play as Platini,
Tigana and Giresse were clearly playing well. This even if their
forwards Rocheteau and Six were being taken out of the game by Germany's
defense.
As for Germany, it was Breitner who was clearly the
driving force behind their attack. Breitner seeming relentless in his
drives forward with Litbarski and Fischer who were clearly given the
French defense all they could handle. This in contrast to the Forster
brothers and Magath who were clearly lost on the field of play.
It
did not take Germany long to let everybody know just how capable they
were of scoring when after a foul by Platini on Briegel; Littbarski hit
the French crossbar of a free kick on which Ettori was clearly beaten.
France had dodged a bullet yet they would not be so fortunate 18 minutes
in to the match. This being when Breitner made another one of his runs
through the French midfield to pass the ball ever slightly with the side
of his foot to the on coming Fischer; who forced Ettori in to a fine
save only to set up a goal for Littbarski. It being Littbarski who hit
the ball right in between several players to give Germany the lead at
1-0.
France perhaps at this point thoroughly started controlling
the midfield and going forward and it was not long before matters were
once again level. France's goal starting when Kaltz fouled Genghini to
set up a Giresse free kick which he floated in to the German penalty box
for Platini's header which found Rocheteau who left Briegel with no
other option then to pull him down for an apparent penalty.
A
penalty and who else but Platini to take it for France? The pressure was
on and Platini knew it better than anybody as he stepped up and kissed
the ball for good luck. Platini took his run and scored with no problems
what so ever as Germany's Tony Harold Schumacher was sent the wrong
way. The score was tied at 1 a piece and what a match this one was
shaping up to be!
The match was intense as the anxieties of
semifinals and such matches which let one team progress further while
leaving the other out had returned to world football. Tensions were also
raised when Six made a challenge on Schumacher which the German
goalkeeper did not take too kindly to and let it be known. This in spite
of playing together with Didier Six on the same team in Germany but it
was clear that on that day; friendships did not exist.
The first
half ended tied at one with everybody getting ready for the second half
while all I could do was wonder who would I rather see Italy play
against. Of course, Italy had beaten France 4 years earlier in Argentina
78 yet this French team was much improved. On the other hand Italy had
only drawn with Germany in that very world cup yet again that was the
past which did not by any means have to repeat itself.
The second
half started with France dominating and even scoring a goal when
Rocheteau got put the ball past Germany's Schumacher yet all in vain. As
the play was ruled to have been off-sides yet looking at the reply; I
believe the line judge was wrong. France was having its moment and
perhaps if Six and Rocheteau had been playing up to their usual
standards; they would have gone a head in the score board.
I was
enjoying the match as so much was still unsettled yet just at this
moment strategy started coming in to play when Germany brought in
Hrubesch in place of Magath. This substitution even seeming strange to
me at the time that a player from Hamburg SV would replace another yet
Magath had not really been playing up to his usual standards. France,
for its part brought in Basttiston to replace Genghini; who was clearly
tired and also not having a good game though he had scored a wonderful
goal against Austria in France's 1-0 victory.
The half would
continue with both teams showing the best of their football and though
much has been said about French flair Vs German tactics; I would also
say it was inspiration VS consistency. Germany getting a good chance off
a Briegel shot only to see Ettori come up with a fine save.
It
was however ten minutes after Battiston entered the field that one of
the most memorable moments in world cup football would occur as well as
one of the most controversial. It being when Platini, taking advantage
of a huge whole in the German defense sent in a through ball to
Battiston. It being a bouncing pass which Battiston managed to tap by
Schumacher and come perhaps within half a meter of scoring yet it was
after his touch on the ball that Schumacher ran in to Battiston and
basically knocked him out. This forcing France to have to substitute him
for Lopez, who had scored a spectacular goal against Hungary just four
years earlier in the world cup in Argentina.
Many might say that
Schumacher's play should have earned him the red card and France a
penalty yet I would disagree with both accounts. My first reason being
because in football contrary to basketball, if the foul is committed
after the play is over than no free kick or penalty is given. Of course
there maybe a card for the player who has committed the in fraction but
not a foul for the team.
I, for what concerns me; I am not nor was
I ever a fan of Schumacher. I believing him not to be amongst the
friendliest people ever to play the game yet in all honesty; I must say
he did have his qualities not only as player but as an individual. He
did help Hugo Sanchez with a cramp he suffered during Germany's match
against Germany in 86 and even helped Maradona up during the final of
the same world cup when Argentina was already in the lead by 3-2. As for
this play what I saw is the following:
Platini had sent a through
ball to Battiston and Schumacher saw that Battiston was basically
unmarked and would score if he got to stop the ball and take his time to
set up a good; so what he did is what goalkeepers are basically trained
to do in such situations. This being to come out of their goals and try
to make the player rush his shot by either intimidating him or simply
closing down the angel. Now in all this very few have ever mentioned the
fact that Schumacher jumped in the air and was moving toward Battiston
after having jumped. All of which making it impossible for him to avoid
the collision with Battiston which came as a result of his jump. Many
said he did not even try to avoid the collision yet I ask how could he?
He was in mid flight and the moment was but a split second. Schumacher
also did not go for the ball but his strategy was to rush the shot more
than save it which did work because Battiston in fact shot the ball
before Schumacher even touched him and did miss without being touched
which I believe is the reason no penalty was given on the play.
Battiston,
in my opinion should have been watching out and gotten out of the path
of Schumacher, who was air born yet took his eye of Schumacher; to
follow the path of this shot. I sometimes wonder if the French would
have complained so much about this if Battiston had scored despite his
collision with Schumacher and if they had won the match because of this
goal. Of course, it would have been very strange to see a player being
taken off on a stretcher after having scored a goal. Battiston however
did not score and the French as we all now know were not given a penalty
nor Schumacher a red card which in my opinion was just even if it was
unlucky for the French. Schumacher would even visit Battiston in the
hospital to let him know there had been no ill feelings on his part and
Battiston even accepted his apology as something that sometimes happens
in football.
After this regrettable incident which will live long
in the memories of many, both France and Germany had their chances at
wining the game. France's chance coming when Amoros's long range effort
hit the bar after Schumacher had been clearly beaten in what in fact
also put France and Germany level with regards to hitting the post.
Litbarski having done likewise in the first half. Germany however came
close when Breitner's shot was brilliantly saved by Ettori, who also had
presence of mind to get to the rebound he left just a split second
before the ever opportunistic Fischer was able to score Germany's second
goal of the match. Ettori almost resembling a cat as he scrambled to
that ball and just in the nick of time managed to swat the ball away for
a corner; just before Fischer.
The match ended and overtime was
upon us with many feeling France had deserved to win because of
Schumacher's foul or supposed foul on Battiston yet I felt otherwise
with regards to this incident. It being sort of like when Beckenbauer
injured his shoulder against Italy in Mexico 70 that it was basically
through falling badly more than what Italian defenders did to him. I did
not really care for my own who won as long as there was something to
watch and was there ever.
France despite their apparent fatigue
started well and in fact were up after only two minutes in the match
when Tresor (name meaning treasure in French) volleyed the ball past
Schumacher to give the team of the rooster the lead. It was a
spectacular shot off a free kick which set the French in to wild
celebrations as well as those around me and why not they were up by 2-1.
It
was at this point that Rummenige came in to the match in place of
Briegel, who though not really playing badly had basically worn himself
out running. I, for my part applaud Derwall's choice as to whom he took
out as very often to get more offense coaches will take out a forward
who in fact is playing well yet he kept Fischer, Hrubesch and Litbarski
on. France however would continue with their sparks which though not
consistent were bright. France would even increase their lead to 3-1
when 99 minutes in to the match, Platini passed the ball to Rocheteau
who sent it across to Six. It being Six who waited just the right amount
of time to hit the small get powerful Giresse, who blasted his shot
past Schumacher and off the post to give what at the time seemed to be
France's pass in to the finals. I even started eyeing an Italy-France in
the final yet life had taught me that the game only ends when the
referee says so and not a second sooner.
Germany much to their
credit did not despair and continued with their solid if not brilliant
game. After all, they did have quality players and 21 minutes in which
to at least get two goals. Of course there was also the chance that
France might have scored a fourth goal which definitely would have made
things very bleak indeed for the Germans and ended it all. I was even
surprised that France was wining because the game was basically even
with regards to who was playing better yet this at the end becomes
academic next to the score line. Germany took but two minutes to get a
goal when Fischer made a sensational jump in which he bent his body in
the air to get to a ball which he managed to put away in the back of the
French net. A sensational goal or so it would have been had it not been
ruled out for an off-sides which I personally did not see yet such is
the game. Germany however had sent a message that this was not the end.
Germany
would create a nice play however two minutes later at the 102 minute
mark of the match when Littbarski who had been having an outstanding
match found Rummenige in the penalty box; who simply tapped it in past
Ettori to bring hope back to Germany. This making the score 3-2 in
France's favor. This in fact being how regulation time would end.
Looking back one could say if this had been France 98 then France would
have won as Tresor's goal would have been considered the golden goal
which would have given them victory. Of course if this had been the era
of the silver goal, they also would have won as they were leading at the
half by 3-2 yet this was not that time.
The second half started
and I must admit, I was having a great time with no pressures. This as
Italy was not playing and had nothing to win or loose regardless of who
won or lost. This making the game but a sheer joy to watch. As for
Germany, it was not so much a matter of their pressure which was not
constant yet was never really absent which tied the game. I, at the time
feeling that perhaps this was were Platini failed not so much as a
player but as a captain. Platini not providing either order or calm to
his team as that is what a captain really should do at such moments.
France at this point started giving the ball away easily and could not
really make time go by which made things easier for Germany.
Germany's
equalizer was truly dazzling, it coming at the 109 minute mark of the
game when all those who had kept Germany in the game pooled their
talents to come up with a goal. It first being Littbarski who centered
the ball to Hrubesch who headed it back to Fischer, who simply outdid
himself with a bicycle kick to make the score 3-3. It was an incredible
goal, the kind most teenagers dream of making when lying in bed and
thinking of simply getting on to that cross and acrobatically putting it
in the net in overtime to either give their teams the lead or at least a
draw. This being precisely what Fischer had done.
I must say, I
was amazed first that France had been able to score two goals and get
the lead yet also that Germany had been able to draw level. Of course,
one must remember this was another time when most people did not think
about penalties like they do today. After all, no match in a world cup
had ever gone to penalties before and in fact; this practice was unheard
of at the time though everybody basically knew there was such a
possibility. Penalties having been presented as an alternative to a coin
toss or replaying the match in the previous world cup.
The match
went on with both teams playing like neither really wanted to win it.
Almost as if they were saying that this is as far as they could go or
would go. Time would run out on this match which was the first one to
ever end in a tie after 120 minutes since the world cup in 38 yet unlike
in those days; this game would not be replayed. Penalty kicks being
sort of like the French revolution which many had thought could happen
but were still surprised when it actually did.
Hidalgo and
Derwall, naturally had to pick out their five penalty takers and this
being in a time when I can imagine neither of them went in to the match
with a list already made out. This after all, was the first time their
had ever been a need for such a method to settle a world cup match.
Tensions were high and for me, it was strange as I never really thought
this would ever be the way to settle a semifinal match but here we were;
about to take penalties.
For France it was Giresse who came first
and scored thus becoming the first player in a world cup to score a
goal in a penalty shoot out. It being strange that it was also a French
man who was the first to score a goal in the history of the world cup
back in Uruguay 30. Germany's Kaltz then scored for Germany to make the
score 1-1. Kaltz in fact being the regular penalty taker for his team
Hamburg SV. Amoros then scored for France to see Breitner, who had
scored off a penalty in the 74 final do likewise to make the score 2 a
piece. Rocheteau then converted and it was then that the first ever
missed penalty in a penalty shoot out came or at least as far as the
world cup was the issue. Stielike shot weakly and Ettori guessed
rightly. This was a break for France and the despair showed on Steilike.
He had missed and till this day remains the only German player to ever
have missed a penalty kick for Germany in a penalty shoot out.
The
TV was still showing Stielike's miss when Six also failed to score.
Germany once again had been saved while France once again had let
victory slip through their hands. Littbarski then calmly scored to make
it 3-3. With the score tied, it was up to Platini to deliver, who did
just that by sending Schumacher the wrong way though four years later he
would miss against Brazil but like they say; that is another story. For
now, it was up to Rummenige to keep Germany in it and like Platini; he
too scored to make it 4-4.
Five penalty kickers had come and still
the issue was not solved, nervous, mind games; all factors now. Bossis
then came for France and Schumacher comes up big yet does not celebrate
wildly but only puts up his arm with a fist. All as if to say this is
but a small step. Of course in this match, how could one ever be sure of
anything let alone victory. Hrubesch then came and despite his massive
physique just calmly slotted the ball past Ettori, to put what I
considered to be the greatest match I had ever seen to an end and
Deutschland in the final. For France, it was what might have been and
perhaps even should have been while for Germany; it was Italy and the
finals. This setting up another match between Germany and Italy in just a
few days.
Germany had won and though one could always argue
forever as to which had been the better team and who deserved to win. I
however feel that it was penalties which decided not who had been the
better team, for this had been equal or at least in my opinion but who
would play Italy in the final.
Of course today penalties are a
part of the game with teams even practicing just in case yet in those
days, this not being the case; I am fully convinced that both teams
tried their hardest to win. This making the contest what I would in my
opinion if nobody else's call a draw with penalties serving only to
choose which one of these two great teams would play Italy.
Germany
would go on to loose by 3-1 to Italy in the final, perhaps partially
due to the fatigue from this game which undoubtedly played its part;
like it did with Italy in the final in Mexico 70 when they lost to
Brazil; after they too had been taking in to an exhausting over time by
Germany. France would go on to win the European Cup in 84 with Platini
having a superb tournament. As for Germany and France, they would go on
to play each other one more time in the semifinal of Mexico 86 with
Germany once again beating France. Germany on that occasion winning by
2-0 in a match paling in comparison to this one which was the one I have
come to hail as my generation's "Italia-Germania 4-3".
No comments:
Post a Comment